Bringing Professionals in the field of aging together since 1983


Each year, the Minnesota Association of Senior Services honors outstanding individuals for their work in the field of aging.  In 2018, a second category was added; the Up and Coming Professional Award for those who have been in the field for ten years or less.  

Congratulations to our 2020 Award Winners!

The winners of the 2020 MASS Professional Awards have been selected!  Unfortunately, due to safety concerns related to COVID-19 and the Stay At Home order, the presentations had to be postponed.  We will be celebrating in the future when it is safe!  

Congratulations to our 2019 Award Winners!

  • Outstanding Professional in the Field of Aging: Sue Bohnsack, Eden Prairie Senior Center
  • Up and Coming Professional:  Laura Hoberg, Winona Friendship Center

Outstanding Professional in the Field of Aging award winner Sue Bohnsack was surprised at a special presentation, attended by members of the Eden Prairie Senior Center, Eden Prairie Parks & Recreation staff, the Mayor of Eden Prairie, and many others wanting to celebrate her many accomplishments.  MASS members Barb Lipinski, Stephanie Baumann, and Rebecca Kropelnicki presented Sue with the well deserved award.  Sue's mother happens to be a participant at the center and was also able to celebrate her daughter!  Congratulations Sue!!

A wonderful surprise celebration was held at the Winona Friendship Center for Up and Coming Professional award winner Laura Hoberg, planned with her nominator and Director of the Friendship Center, Malia Fox.  Laura was recognized by senior members, City of Winona and Winona Parks & Recreation staff, the Mayor of Winona, and many others wanting to sing her praises!  Her parents even made a special trip from Monticello to attend the presentation!  MASS members Barb Lipinski and Stephanie Baumann were proud to present Laura with the award.  Congratulations Laura!!

Check out this video of Laura's full presentation!

Thank You to the 2019 MASS Awards Committee

Committee Members: Stephanie Baumann, Renee Brekken, Rebecca Kropelnicki, Amber Jacobson, Norm Kunselman.  If you are interested in serving on the 2020 Awards Committee, please contact Stephanie Baumann at 651-322-6016 or [email protected]  This is a fun committee to serve on, as our job is to honor and recognize our deserving colleagues for their hard work and dedication to the field.  We are always looking for new members!

Past Award Recipients:

2018 Heather Radke Up and Coming Professional Marshall Senior Center
2018 Laura Hood Outstanding Professional Whitney Senior Center, St. Cloud
2017 Rebecca Kropelnicki   South Washington County Senior Center
2016  Nicole Gorman   Farmington Senior Center
2015  Barb Lipinski   Marshall Senior Center
2014 Laurie Thrush   Hastings Area Senior Center
2013 Michelle Starkey   Burnsville Senior Center
2012 Steve Pieh   City of Minnetonka Senior Services
2011 Linda Walter   City of Lakeville
2010 Missie Kohlbeck   Farmington Senior Center
2009 Suzanne Kostanshek   Elk River Activity Center
2008 Connie Thompson   Fridley Senior Center
2007 Arlene Fink   Northfield Senior Center
2006 Dodie Johnsrud   Pope County Senior Center
2004 Pam Loidolt   Monticello Senior Center
2003 Jeanne Fackler   City of Golden Valley
2003 Gail Sinkel   Delano Senior Center
2002 Susan Newville   Hopkins Senior Center
2001 Kris Orluck   Maple Grove Senior Center
2000 Cathy Bailey   Gillespie Center, Mound
1999 Jennifer Spado (Crotteau)   Buffalo Senior Center
1998 Melinda Ludwiczak    
1997 JoAnne Kvern    
1995 Linda Dietz   Breckenridge Senior Center
1994 Mary Hilleshiem    
1993 Dorothy Williams    
1992 Carol Kuettner    
1991 Jean Thorne    
1990 Steve Hennes   Whitney Senior Center, St. Cloud
1989 Kathy Meyer    
1988 Kathryn LeBrasseur